Welcome to Hemulism!

Hello you. Welcome to what I hope will be a rather different and personal site dedicated to unusual and experimental music. The agenda here is a simple one – to discuss, review, dissect, celebrate and generally inhabit the often secretive world of strange and experimental music, and to do so with a reasonable degree of wit, intelligence and panache. As with most blogs, this will all be happening from the perspective of one deeply flawed individual, so expect plenty of bias and rabid fanboyism along with, I hope, an open-minded and ever-expanding love for all kinds of music that dare to be different.

I’ve set the ball rolling with an unashamedly gushy review of the long-awaited tribute album to Tim Smith. Over the next few days I’ll be adding album reviews of some of the most interesting new releases I’ve encountered during the course of 2010, including the likes of Nichelodeon, Cosa Brava, Everything Everything, Jaga Jazzist, Arch Garrison and Jean Louis.

I’ll also be launching a few semi-regular features including profiles of overlooked bands and musicians and a weekly Spotify playlist. Oh, and I’ll probably regurgitate a press release or two, should one catch my eye.

So, until some more posts materialise, why not take a look at Hemulism’s sister-blog, my sporadic attempt to plough my way through the entirety of the notorious Nurse With Wound list in alphabetical order? Why not, eh? WHY NOT? You have better things to do? Oh right, fair enough then.

Comments
3 Responses to “Welcome to Hemulism!”
  1. Snardbafulator says:

    Hello there my friend Trouserpress! Greetings from The Mare’s Nest! I wish you all the luck in the world with this here thingy and as a fellow unemployed overeducated underachieving creative waste of life, thought I’d pop the ol’ cherry of your comment board, at least on this thread. Thanks for the Yedza Urfa, the Kew. Rhone. and thanks for all the fish! I have yet, though, to hear your opinions of MCCLINTIC SPHERE, music so totally eccentric, with sounds so horrifically unstylish that even diehard progheads don’t know what to make of it, and offer polite little (“Hmm, I hear Hatfield in there. Very Eggy, sounds like National Health”) words of encouragement meanwhile frantically looking for the nearest exit from the conversation, knowing that I’d type their brains out in response!

    But you … YOU … you have all the time in the world for this unnecessary nonsense I’m wasting the creation’s life energy with, so by all means HAVE AT IT! Meanwhile, there’s your Tim Smith tribute to read and all the linky links you may have left here as spoor for the for the hunter of music for the socially suicidal. Lemme go explore the nooks ‘n’ crannies of this here new blog while praying fervently for a Review Post feature in this blog software.

    Hemulism — I love it!

    Bob

  2. Udi Koomran says:

    looking forward to this
    Good Luck !

  3. Frippism says:

    Much luck, love your reviews! You’re even a bigger Cardiacs fanboy than I am (fight to the death?)

Leave a Reply

